PAAB hears appeals of property assessments and equalization orders following decisions from local boards of review. PAAB does not value property or independently investigate assessments. PAAB is not part of your local assessor's office or board of review.

Board Members

PAAB has three members appointed by the governor and confirmed by the Iowa Senate. Each member serves a six-year term. PAAB members have experience in the area of government, corporate, or private practice relating to property appraisal and property tax administration. Two members are certified real property appraisers and one member is an attorney. No more than two members may be from the same political party.

Liz Goodman - Attorney
Liz was appointed in May 2019. Her term ends April 30, 2025.

Karen Oberman, Chair - Appraiser
Karen was first appointed in June 2009. Her current term ends April 30, 2027.

Dennis Loll - Appraiser
Dennis was first appointed in February 2019. His current term ends April 30, 2029. 

Reminder: Parties to a PAAB appeal may not contact PAAB members about the appeal - doing so may be a prohibited ex parte communication. If you want PAAB to consider information about your appeal, submit your comments on the appeal through a filing.

PAAB Staff

Marcia Brown, Secretary/Paralegal
Jessica Braunschweig-Norris, General Counsel
Brad Hopkins, Assistant General Counsel